running

A knee injury, a baby, and a transcontinental move later, I am running again, people!

Once a week, there is nothing between me and 10 km of dirt road in the mountains.

IMG 1052

Me, dust, heat and flowers, towering peaks, a mountain stream, and big quiet.

IMG 1065

Half disbelieving every time I spot the half-way bridge and turning point that I got that far. And then I can’t help but yell a whoop because I really did get that far and it’s downhill all the way home.

DSCN5939

I come back a different person, wife, mom.

Still blown away that my family gives to me so much more easily than I give to myself!

IMG 1061

He leads me beside quiet waters, He restores my soul.
Psalm 23 

About islandsundays

A great God, one crazy husband, five home-schooled children, and a (post-island) life at the tip of Africa ...
This entry was posted in outdoors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to running

  1. Cathy Peters says:

    Beautiful. Exquisite views and scenery. And so remote…I imagined population where you live…delighted you have access to something so peaceful and beautiful. God’s hand is evident.

    • The mountain reserve is unspoilt and one feels like you are a million miles away from civilization, but in actual fact it is only a 15 minute drive away from town to the gate of the reserve. And the town is sprawling with many suburbs and close to 30 000 students – very populated and very busy!

      Yes, I see God’s hand in it too. An absolute gift.

Leave a Reply

