of Mary on Christmas day

I was reading good old Oswald Chambers this morning in my quiet sleeping house:

“Have I allowed my personal life to become a ‘Bethlehem’ for the Son of God?

… The characteristic of the new birth is that I yield myself so completely to God that Christ is formed in me.

God made manifest in the flesh – that is what is made profoundly possible for you and me by the Redemption.”

And I was thinking again of Mary giving birth to Christ in submission to God, and how wide and deep and far her yielding of herself has reached. I think Husband is right – Christmas is a revolution (here on the Magnificat).

If you scroll down here to “Nativity” you will find still my favourite Christmas painting.

Blessings for a wonderful Christmas time.

About Corli

A great God, one crazy husband, four home-schooled children, and an island life off the west coast of Canada...
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.